www.evansnyc.com
English  |  Русский  |  Español  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Recherche:
Des écoles pour vos enfants
Tél.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0645
France:
+33 9 75 12 95 14
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
Des écoles pour vos enfants

S’y retrouver dans le système éducatif de New York


Pour inscrire vos enfants à l'école à New York City, vous devez vous y prendre à l’avance, au moins un an avant. Le plus tôt vous commencerez, le plus facile sera votre demande d’admission, et plus grandes vos chances d’obtenir une place dans l’école de votre choix. Certains parents à New York inscrivent leur enfant sur les listes d’attente de bons jardins d’enfant avant même sa naissance.


Le jardin d’enfants (pré-maternelle), que l’on appelle aussi “pre-school,” est en général pour les enfants de trois à quatre ans. En général un jardin d’enfants est rattaché à une école primaire. L’école primaire continue jusqu' à la cinquième classe, cependant nombre d'écoles primaires à New York City vont jusqu' à la sixième classe. La première année de l'école primaire aux Etats-Unis est le 'kindergarten'. Les enfants entrent au kindergarten à l'âge de cinq ans. L'école secondaire va de la sixième à la huitième classe en général. Le collège va de la neuvième classe à la douzième.


Il existe deux types principaux d'école à New York City: les écoles publiques et les écoles privées.


Les écoles privées de New York sont ouvertes à tous sans restriction relative au lieu de résidence. La procédure d'inscription ainsi que les frais de scolarité varient selon les écoles. Dans certains cas les frais de scolarité peuvent s'élever jusqu'a $30,000 par an. En dépit de cela, il peut être très difficile d'obtenir une place dans une bonne école, et il faut quand même s'y prendre au moins un an à l'avance. Il est possible d'obtenir bourses et aide financière qui dépendent en grande partie des résultats scolaires de l'élève et/ou du statut financier de la famille. Toutes les écoles exigent des étudiants un test de placement. Certaines écoles demandent aussi une composition et/ou une interview. Pour connaître les détails et organiser le test, il faut contacter l'école directement.


Consultez notre liste de maternelles, d'écoles privées élémentaires et secondaires et la liste des collèges supérieurs privés.


Les écoles publiques de New York offrent une éducation gratuite à tous les enfants ayant les connaissances requises pour être inscrits. Il existe quatre types importants d'écoles publiques qui diffèrent par leurs critères d'admission.


1. Ecoles publiques selon le lieu de résidence

L'inscription dans les écoles publiques du jardin d'enfants à l' école primaire dépend souvent de votre lieu de résidence. Il y a 32 districts scolaires principaux (aussi appelés "zones") dans les municipalités de New York, dont six à Manhattan.


Le placement scolaire est géré par les Bureaux Scolaires Publics Régionaux. Pour vous inscrire, vous devez vous présenter avec votre enfant et en apportant les documents nécessaires à votre bureau Régional spécifique. Il y a deux Bureaux Régionaux à Manhattan qui couvrent les six districts de Manhattan et du Bronx :


Bureau Régional #9

Directeur: Peter Heaney, Jr
Pour les districts 1, 2, 4 et 7
333 7th Avenue
+1 212-356-7500


Bureau Régional #10

Directeur: Gale Reeves
Pour les districts 3, 5, 6 et 7
4360 Broadway
+1 917-521-3700


Parmi les documents requis:

Preuve vérifiable de domiciliation.
Certificat de naissance de l'enfant, ou bien passeport, ou certificat de baptême.
Carnet de vaccination.
Carte scolaires ou relevé des résultats scolaires (recommandé mais pas exigé).
Programme Individuel d'Education (IEP), si l'enfant en a un.


recherche zone du Département de l'Education de NY. Pour plus d'informations voir la page inscription des élèves du Département de l'Education de New York.


2. Ecoles publiques ouvertes à tous

Il s'agit en général de collèges, mais certaines maternelles, écoles primaires et secondaires acceptent aussi les élèves sans critère de résidence. Considérez donc aussi cette option si vous n'avez pas eu de chance avec les écoles de votre quartier.


3. Ecoles Charter

Les Ecoles Charter, qui sont un peu un hybride des deux systèmes, sont une alternative aux écoles privées et publiques. Ce sont des écoles indépendamment gérées, (c’est-à-dire qu’elles ne sont pas administrées par l’Etat de New York), et leur but est d’apporter de nouvelles idées et de nouvelles facultés à l’éducation publique. Si cette option vous intéresse, vous pouvez contacter les écoles charter au (+1212) 437-8300.


4. Collèges publics

Les Collèges Publics de New York n’ont pas de restriction quand au lieu de résidence des étudiants. La plupart de enfants font une demande au collège de leur choix en dernière année d’école secondaire. Les établissements qui ont une école secondaire ainsi qu’un collège n’ont pas de procédure séparée d’admission au collège pour leurs étudiants de secondaire.


5. Collèges Publics Spécialisés

Il existe à New York plusieurs collèges “spécialisés”, qui sont aussi les meilleures écoles publiques de la ville. Ces écoles sont considérées comme spécialisées, parce que chaque école a une sphère d’intérêt spécialisée. Par exemple, si votre adolescent s’intéresse aux arts de la performance, vous pouvez vous renseigner auprès de l’école qui se spécialise dans ce secteur.


Pour s’inscrire, les étudiants doivent passer le Test d’Admission aux Collèges Spécialisés. Vous trouverez la date des tests et les adresses sur la page on SHSAT du Département de l’Education de New York.


Une autre bonne ressource pour tout renseignement concernant l’éducation publique est la section Evaluation et Responsabilité du Département de l’Education de New York que vous pouvez joindre au 212-374-3990 ou bien a l’adresse suivante : daainfo@schools.nyc.gov.


Consultez notre liste des Ecoles publiques selon le lieu de résidence

Consultez notre liste des Ecoles publiques ouvertes à tous

Consultez notre liste des Collèges publics spécialisés

Consultez notre liste des Collèges publics

Consultez notre liste des Ecoles privées

Consultez notre liste des Collèges privés

Consultez notre liste des Ecoles pour besoins spéciaux

Consultez notre liste des Ecoles internationales


Et pour tout ce qui concerne les écoles de NYC, appelez la ligne Insideschools Hotline au 1-866-427-6033 ou consultez leur page web www.insideschools.org

Trouvez votre appartement
Je cherche:
Emplacement:
Chambres à coucher:
Superficie:
[sqft]
Prix:
USD
Nous contacter:
Tél.:
New York:
+1 212 343 0645
France:
+33 9 75 12 95 14
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
Toutes les informations concernant une propriété à vendre, à louer, et son financement ont été obtenues par Evans de sources estimées par Evans comme honorables et fiables. L’exactitude de cette information ne peut toutefois être garantie, elle pourrait contenir des erreurs ou des omissions, des changements de prix, de loyer, de commission, de bail ou de financement pourraient prendre place, une propriété pourrait avoir été déjà vendue, ou retirée du marché sans préavis ; en effet ces informations ont été recueillies par des tierce parties qui sont entièrement responsable de leur contenu. Toutes les surfaces et dimensions sont données à titre d’indication et sont approximatives. Les dimensions exactes peuvent être établies en engageant les services d’un architecte ou d’un ingénieur. Règles de confidentialité | Conditions d’utilisation

www.evansnyc.com
Русский  |  Español  |  Français  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Search:
Schools for Your Children
Tel.:
+1 (212) 343-06-00
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
Schools for Your Children

Navigating the New York City School System


In order to enroll your child in a good school in New York City, you should plan well in advance, at least a year ahead of time. The earlier you get started, the easier the application process will be, and your child’s chance of getting into the school of choice will be better. Some parents in New York get their child on a waiting list for a good pre-kindergarten, for example, even before the child is born.


Pre-kindergarten School, otherwise known as “pre-school,” is usually for children age three to four. Usually a pre-kindergarten school is a part of an elementary school. Elementary school usually goes through the fifth grade; however, many elementary schools in New York City go up until the sixth grade. The first year of elementary school in the United States is called kindergarten. Children usually enter kindergarten when they are five years old. Middle schools are generally comprised of grades six to eight. High schools are comprised of grades nine to twelve.


There are two major types of schools in New York City: public schools and private schools.


New York City Private Schools are open to anyone in the city and have no residence-based restrictions. Application processes vary from school to school, as does tuition. Sometimes tuition can be as much as $30,000/year. However, getting into a good school is very competitive and still requires at least a year of advance planning. Scholarships and financial aid may be available depending on the student’s academic achievements and/or a family’s financial status. All schools require students to take a placement test. Some schools also require an admissions essay and/or interview. The best way to find this out and to schedule the test is to contact the individual school.


Please see our sample list of pre-kindergarten, elementary and middle private schools and the list of the top private high schools.


New York City public schools offer free tuition to any child who qualifies to be enrolled in a school. There are four major types of public schools and they differ based on their admission criteria.


1. Public schools with Residence Requirements

Admission to a public school with a residence requirement for pre-kindergarten, elementary and/or middle schools often depends on where you live. There are 32 main school districts (also called "zones") in all boroughs of New York City, six of which are in Manhattan.


School placement is done by local public school regional offices. In order to enroll, you need to come with your child and all the necessary documents to your specific regional office. There are two regional offices in Manhattan and they cover all six Manhattan districts and the Bronx:


Regional Office #9

Regional Superintendent: Peter Heaney, Jr
Serves School Districts 1, 2, 4 and 7
333 7th Avenue
+1 212-356-7500


Regional Office #10

Regional Superintendent: Gale Reeves
Serves School Districts 3, 5, 6 and 7
4360 Broadway
+1 917-521-3700


Documents to be presented include:

Verifiable proof of your home address.
Child’s birth certificate, passport, or baptismal certificate.
Child’s immunization history.
Child’s transcript or latest report card (recommended not required).
Child’s Individualized Education Program (IEP), if applicable


To find out to which regional office you should go and which district (zone) you are in, call 311 from New York City or visit the NYC Department of Education’s zone search page. To get more information have a look at the NYC Department of Education’s student enrollment page.


2. Public Schools that are open to children citywide

This usually applies to public high schools. However, some pre-kindergarten, elementary and middle schools have no residence-based restrictions, too. So if you had no luck with your local public schools, consider this option.


3. Charter Schools

An alternative to private and public schools are charter schools, which are a hybrid of both. They are independently run public schools (meaning not run by the State of New York), and they aim to bring new ideas and faculty to public education. If you are interested in exploring the option of charter schools you can reach them at (+1212) 437-8300.


4. Public High Schools

New York public high schools do not have a residence requirement. Most children apply to a high school of their choice during the last year of middle school. Some schools that do have both middle and high school don't have a separate admission process for their middle school students.


5. Specialized Public High Schools

In New York City there are several “specialized” high schools, which also happen to be the city’s top public schools. These schools are considered specialized because each school has a specific focus. For example, if your teenager is interested in the performing arts, you might want to consider looking into the specialized school for the performing arts.


To enroll, all of these schools require students to take the Specialized High Schools Admissions Test. You can find out when the test dates are and their locations by taking a look at the NYC Department of Education’s page on SHSAT.


A very good resource for any other questions you may have regarding public education is the NYC Department of Education’s Assessment and Accountability, Tel: 212-374-3990 or daainfo@schools.nyc.gov.


Please see our sample list of residence based public schools

Please see our sample list of citywide public schools

Please see our sample list of specialized public high schools

Please see our sample list of public high schools

Please see our sample list of private schools

Please see our sample list of private high schools

Please see our sample list of schools for children with special needs

Please see our sample list of international schools


A good resource about everything and anything concerning NYC schools is the Insideschools Hotline 1-866-427-6033 or their website www.insideschools.org

Find your home
Looking for:
Location:
Bedrooms:
Total area:
sq. ft.
Price:
USD
Contact Us:
Tel.:
+1 (212) 343-06-00
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
All information on this website including information about a property for sale, rental or financing has been obtained by Evans from sources which Evans deems reputable and reliable. All guides, reference materials, mortgage and closing cost calculators, etc, presented herein are for your reference only and are approximate. No representations are made as to the accuracy of such information, and such information is subject to errors, omission, change of price, rental, commission, prior sale, lease or financing, or withdrawal without notice, as such information has been provided by independent third parties who are solely responsible for its content. Exact closing costs and mortgage information can be obtained from your mortgage representative and/or attorney. All square footage and dimensions presented herein are approximate. Exact dimensions can be obtained by retaining the services of a professional architect or engineer. Privacy statement | Terms of use