www.evansnyc.com
English  |  Русский  |  Español  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Recherche:
Lexique
Lexique Immobilier de New York City
Tél.:
+1 (212) 343-06-45
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023

Lexique des Termes de l’Immobilier de New York


Types d’Appartements Lire

Caractéristiques des Appartements Lire

Caractéristiques des Bâtiments Lire

Etat de la propriété Lire

Termes Importants en l’Immobilier Lire



Types d’Appartements:


Convertible – un appartement où un grand séjour a été divisé en deux, créant une chambre supplémentaire tout en conservant une espace séjour.


Junior One/Two/Three/Four – semblable à un convertible; un appartement où une alcôve près du séjour a été convertie en chambre ou en salle à manger. Par exemple, un junior one (une pièce) était à l’origine un studio, et un junior two (deux pièces) était à l’origine un appartement d’une pièce, etc.


Classic Five/Six/Seven – on les trouve presque toujours dans les bâtiments d’avant guerre, un appartement “Classic 5'” comporte deux chambres, un séjour, une salle à manger et une cuisine. Des chambres supplémentaires (en général avec leur propre salle de bain) en font des Classic 6 ou 7.


Studio – un appartement où le séjour et l’espace chambre à coucher se partagent l’espace disponible. Les studios ont en général une cuisine compacte ou une kitchenette.


Duplex – Appartement sur deux étages, ou bien une maison avec deux unités sur deux étages.


Triplex – un appartement sur trois étages.


Quadraplex – un appartement sur quatre étages.


Penthouse – une unité luxe dans un bâtiment high-rise, en général aux plus hauts étages avec les plus belles vues. Souvent avec un espace terrasse à ciel ouvert inclus dans l’appartement.


Retour



Caractéristiques des Appartements:


Alcove – Une alcôve est un petit espace situé auprès du séjour principal d’un appartement. Les alcôves sont généralement utilisées comme chambres ou espace repas. Dans les appartements d’une ou de deux pièces, les alcoves sont quelquefois converties en petite chambre supplémentaire, créant ainsi un appartement junior two ou junior three.


Den – une pièce disponible qui est utilisée en tant que bureau, cabinet de travail, ou bibliothèque.


Built-in appliances – équipement (en général dans la cuisine ou la salle de bain) qui est installé de façon permanente, tel que lave-vaisselle, machine à laver, micro-onde, frigidaire, etc.


Bay window – une bow-window, fenêtre qui dépasse du mur principal d’un bâtiment; ce qui forme comme une baie dans la pièce, en général polygonale ou carrée. Ce type de fenêtre se trouve souvent dans les townhouses fin de siècle et les bâtiments d’avant guerre.


Mezzanine ou Espace Loft est un espace supplémentaire créé dans les appartements ayant des plafonds très hauts. L’espace loft est en général construit au dessus du séjour, on y accède par un escalier ou par une échelle. Selon la hauteur du plafond, cet espace peut être utilise comme chambre, den, ou espace rangement.


High ceilings – des plafonds de plus de neuf pieds (2m74). Les bâtiments d’avant guerre sont bien connus pour leurs plafonds très hauts, souvent décorés de moulures. On trouve aussi des plafonds hauts dans la plupart de condominiums et coopératives modernes.


Recessed Lighting – éclairage net et contemporain dans les appartements modernes. ‘Recessed’ veut dire que l’éclairage est intégré dans le plafond, il n’y a pas de lustres qui pendent du plafond.


Niche - une niche dans un mur, traditionnellement en forme d’arche.


EIK – abréviation de “Eat-In Kitchen”, cuisine où l’on peut manger. A la différence d’une kitchenette, c’est une cuisine plus grande où l’on peut installer un petit espace repas avec une table ou un comptoir petit déjeuner.


WEIK – Une ‘Eat-in Kitchen’ avec fenêtre.


Walk-In Kitchen – une cuisine équipée d’électroménager et de placards, mais où il n’y a pas de place pour une table.


Walk-through ou Pass-through Kitchen – une cuisine située entre deux pièces (en général un séjour et une salle à manger).


Pullman ou Petite Kitchen– on en trouve souvent dans les petits appartements et les studios. C’est une cuisine qui occupe un pan de mur. On y trouve en général un frigidaire (taille normale ou plus petit), une cuisinière à deux brûleurs, une surface de travail, un ou plusieurs placards, et un évier.


Murphy Bed – un lit qui se replie dans le mur et que l’on peut ouvrir quand on en a besoin. Une bonne solution pour économiser l’espace dans les petits appartements.


California Closet – un grand placard ou cagibi avec tiroirs et compartiments intégrés.


Fireplace – cheminée, qui peut être en état de marche (WBFP = “pour brûler du bois”), ou décorative (NWFP = “ne fonctionne pas”).


Original Detail – ce terme se rapporte en général aux détails d’origine des bâtiments d’avant guerre, tels que moulures aux plafonds, cheminées décorées, etc.


Powder Room – même chose qu’un 'half bath'. Une salle de bain sans douche ou sans baignoire.


Dual Sinks / Dual Vanity – une salle de bain avec deux lavabos séparés; pour monsieur et pour madame vraisemblablement.


En-Suite Bathroom – une salle de bain associée à une chambre. Pour les chambres principales en général.


Utilities – tous les services, tels que l’Electricité, le chauffage, l’Eau, Le Téléphone et la Télévision. Peuvent être inclus dans le prix du loyer ou non.


Partial Views – se rapporte de des vues partielles de Central park, des monuments et points de repère, de l’Hudson River ou la East River.


Oblique Views – se rapporte a des vues sur Central Park, les points de repère et les deux rivières que vous pouvez obtenir seulement en penchant ou en tournant la tête.


Retour



Caractéristiques des Batiments:


Amenities – aménagements et services supplémentaires agréables proposés par certains développements, tels que piscine, salle de sport, accès à l’Internet ADSL, terrasse commune sur le toit, etc. Ces aménagements ne sont pas essentiels à la vie en appartement, mais ils rendent la vie plus agréable et constituent un point fort du marketing.


Service level – se rapporte au niveau de service à la porte d’entrée d’un immeuble.


Full-service building – un immeuble qui emploie un concierge et un portier.


Concierge – une personne qui travaille dans l’entrée d’un immeuble et sert de portier et de gardien, contrôlant les allées et venues de l’entrée. Le concierge accepte les livraisons de paquets pour les locataires, les informe quand ils ont de la visite, etc.


Attendant (temps complet ou temps partiel) – cette personne peut être un portier, un concierge, et/ou un garçon d’étage.


Doorman (portier) (temps complet ou temps partiel) – une personne qui ouvre la porte pour les locataires (selon le bâtiment) et qui sert aussi de gardien contrôlant les allées et venues dans l’entrée du bâtiment.


Superintendent – on l’appelle en général le “super.” C’est un manager responsable de l’entretien d’un bâtiment résidentiel. Il est le point de contact principal pour les résidents de l’immeuble. Si le super habite dans l’immeuble, on l’appelle un “live-in super.”


Attended Elevator – dans certains bâtiments d’avant guerre, il y a en permanence une personne qui fait fonctionner les ascenseurs, et qui assure aussi la sécurité des résidents.


Basement – partie d’un bâtiment qui se trouve au sous-sol.


English Basement – dans un townhouse, la partie de la maison au rez-de-chaussée qui possède une entrée séparée sous l’escalier d’honneur.


Parlor Floor – premier étage d’un townhouse, auquel on accède par l’escalier d’entrée. Le parlor floor est traditionnellement la plus belle pièce d’un townhouse avec le plafond le plus haut.


Patio - jardin privé, en général à l’arrière du bâtiment et accessible aux appartements du rez-de-chaussée.


Rooftop Deck / Sundeck – un espace en commun sur les toits, où les résidents peuvent admirer la vue, se reposer sur des chaises longues ou faire un barbecue (selon le bâtiment). On en trouve dans les développements de luxe, les high-rises, et certains walk-ups.


Terrace – un toit ou une partie d’un toit, en général à l’arrière d’un high-rise. Au contraire des rooftop decks, la terrasse est accessible uniquement aux résidents de l’appartement qui va avec la terrasse.


Courtyard – une cour entourée des bâtiments du complexe.


Keyed Elevator – se rapporte à un appartement qui occupe un étage entier d’un bâtiment. Très fréquent dans les bâtiments en lofts des quartiers de SoHo et de Tribeca.


Retour



Etat de la propriété:


Broom Clean – en condition idéale.


Blue Ribbon Condition – une propriété qui est proche de son état d’origine, comme neuve.


As-is Condition - (comme on la trouve) le locataire ou l’acheteur accepte la propriété dans l’état où elle est à présent; le propriétaire ne fera aucun travaux avant ou après la vente/la location.


Triple Mint – terme utilisé pour décrire l’excellent état d’une propriété impeccable, en particulier (1) l’état général de l’appartement, (2) l’état de la cuisine, et (3) l’état de la salle de bain.


Retour



Termes importants en l’immobilier:


Closing (clôture) – la dernière opération d’une transaction, quand on signe les contrats et la propriété est transférée au nouveau propriétaire.


Closing costs (frais de clôture) – faux frais associés à une transaction immobilière, y compris les frais de notaire, les frais bancaires, les frais d’hypothèque, les frais d’enregistrement, etc. Ils sont à ajouter au prix de clôture de la propriété.


Common area (parties communes) – Les parties à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du bâtiment qui appartiennent en commun à tous les propriétaires d’un condominium ou d’une coopérative. Ceci peut inclure le parking, la piscine, un club de sport, un salon, et autres aménagements loisirs ou service.


Credit rating (points de crédit) – la note attribuée à toute personne ayant un historique de crédit aux Etats-Unis, et qui définit sa position en ce qui concerne les crédits (on a en général de “bons” ou de “mauvais” points de crédit), basée sur son standing financier et son historique de crédit.


Credit report (rapport de crédit) - le rapport qui examine l’historique de crédit d’un emprunteur d’après ses emprunts précédents. Plusieurs compagnies émettent des rapports de crédit, mais les plus importantes sont TransUnion Corp., Equifax et Experian.


Earnest Money Deposit (acompte de bonne foi) – l’acompte versé par un acheteur potentiel pour prouver le sérieux de son intention d’acheter une propriété.


Maintenance Fee (frais d’entretien) - la contribution mensuelle que les copropriétaires paient pour les salaires du personnel, les réparations et l’entretien des parties communes, les charges de coopérative.


Common Charges (frais communs) – les frais mensuels payée par les propriétaires d’un condominium. Ces frais couvrent l’entretien du bâtiment, les réparations et les salaires du personnel.


Mortgage Banker (Société de crédits hypothécaires) – une compagnie qui accorde des prêts immobiliers en utilisant ses propres ressources financières. La plupart de banques (y compris Wells Fargo Bank, Citibank, HSBC, Chase et beaucoup d’autres encore) ont un programme hypothécaire – vous pouvez faire une demande d’éligibilité pour un prêt auprès de ces banques avant d’acheter.


Mortgage Broker (courtier en prêts hypothécaires) – une compagnie qui trouve des emprunteurs potentiels qui répondent aux critères des entreprises et des particuliers qui ont de l’argent à prêter. Le courtier en prêts hypothécaires n’accorde pas le prêt, mais est payé par le prêteur pour ses services. Un bon courtier vous conseillera sur le meilleur type de prêt en fonction de vos besoins, et vous proposera plusieurs options de financement parmi lesquelles vous pourrez choisir.


Security deposit (dépôt de garantie) - un paiement demandé par un propriétaire pour s’assurer que le locataire respectera les conditions précisées dans le bail. En général équivalent à un mois de loyer, à payer lors de la signature du bail, et retenu par le propriétaire pendant la durée de validité du bail. Ce dépôt vous est remboursé quand vous quittez l’appartement à condition que l’appartement soit toujours en bon état.


Subletting/Subleasing (sous-location) – quand un locataire loue son appartement à une tierce personne pour une certaine période. Doit être autorise par le propriétaire du bâtiment ou le manager.


Title – (titres)– preuve juridique que le propriétaire est en possession légale de la propriété. Clean title (titre sans encombre) indique une propriété libre de toute revendication ou autre problème juridique. Chain of title (chaîne de titre) établit la liste de tous les anciens propriétaires de la dite propriété. Cloud on title (une ombre sur le titre) indique une revendication ou autre problème juridique qui trouble la commercialisation des titres de la dite propriété.


Exclusive Listing (inscription exclusive) – une propriété commercialisée par un seul agent selon l’accord établi entre l’agent et le propriétaire. Dans un accord de “droit exclusif de vente”, l’agent a droit à sa commission même si le propriétaire trouve lui-même un acheteur sans l’aide de l’agent. Dans un accord d’“unique agence” le propriétaire peut commercialiser la propriété et trouver un acheteur sans obligation aucune envers l’agent.


Co-Brokership (inscription plurielle) – un accord par lequel l’agent partage la commission 50%/50% avec la compagnie qui trouve l’acheteur et complète la transaction. Quand l’agent reçoit une nouvelle propriété, il ou elle commercialise la propriété avec la participation d’autres agences, pour maximiser le nombre d’acheteurs potentiels. La plupart des transactions immobilières se font de cette manière.


Open House (portes ouvertes) – Pour faire de la publicité pour une propriété à vendre ou à louer, l’agent immobilier ou la compagnie de gestion peuvent organiser une journée ‘portes ouvertes’. Cet événement est en général annoncé dans les services d’annonces et sur des sites Internet auxquels le public a accès.


Guarantor (garant) – c’est une personne qui signe le bail avec le locataire et qui assume responsabilité si le locataire ne peut pas payer à temps. Avoir quelqu’un qui se porte garant aide les étudiants ou les personnes qui n’ont pas d’historique de crédit à louer un appartement à New York City. Certains propriétaires exigent que le garant réside dans la zone Trois-Etats (New York, Connecticut ou New Jersey).


Rent Control (contrôle des loyers) – un programme qui s’applique aux bâtiments construits avant 1947 et qui limite le montant que le propriétaire peut demander pour louer ces propriétés. Les locataires d’appartements à loyers contrôlés jouissent d’un niveau de protection plus élevé contre les hausses de loyer et les évictions.


Rent Stabilization (stabilisation des loyers) – Les locataires d’appartements à loyers stabilisés ont la garantie que leur loyer ne peut augmenter au dessus d’une certaine limite – en général de 2% à 10% - à chaque renouvellement de bail.


Renters Insurance (Tenants Insurance) (Assurance locataire) – une assurance qui protege les possessions du locataire et l’appartement contre les inondations, l’incendie, le vol, et autres urgences.


FSBO – “for sale by owner = c’est le propriétaire lui-même qui vend sa propriété”.


Investment Property (propriété d’investissement) – une propriété que le propriétaire n’habite pas, achetée en tant que moyen d’investissement.


Pied-a-Terre (French) – résidence secondaire. Le propriétaire habite en général ailleurs et visite New York plusieurs fois par an.


Managing Agent – (agent de gestion) – une compagnie indépendante employée par le propriétaire ou bien par les propriétaires d’un condominium ou d’une coopérative pour gérer leur propriété. La compagnie de gestion est responsable du bon fonctionnement de l’immeuble et s’occupe des réparations et travaux éventuels.


Retour

Trouvez votre appartement
Je cherche:
Emplacement:
Chambres à coucher:
Superficie:
[sqft]
Prix:
USD
Nous contacter:
Tél.:
+1 (212) 343-06-45
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
Toutes les informations concernant une propriété à vendre, à louer, et son financement ont été obtenues par Evans de sources estimées par Evans comme honorables et fiables. L’exactitude de cette information ne peut toutefois être garantie, elle pourrait contenir des erreurs ou des omissions, des changements de prix, de loyer, de commission, de bail ou de financement pourraient prendre place, une propriété pourrait avoir été déjà vendue, ou retirée du marché sans préavis ; en effet ces informations ont été recueillies par des tierce parties qui sont entièrement responsable de leur contenu. Toutes les surfaces et dimensions sont données à titre d’indication et sont approximatives. Les dimensions exactes peuvent être établies en engageant les services d’un architecte ou d’un ingénieur. Règles de confidentialité | Conditions d’utilisation

www.evansnyc.com
Русский  |  Español  |  Français  |  Italiano  |  Deutsch  |  Português  |  中文
Search:
Glossary
New York City Real Estate Glossary
Tel.:
+1 (212) 343-06-00
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023

Glossary of New York Real Estate Terms


Types of Apartments Read

Apartment Features Read

Building Features Read

Property Condition Read

Important Real Estate Terms Read



Types of Apartments:


Convertible – an apartment where a large living room was divided in two, making an additional bedroom while still retaining some of the living room space.


Junior One/Two/Three/Four – similar to a convertible; an apartment where an alcove off the living room has been converted into a bedroom or dining room. For example, a junior one bedroom would have originally been a studio, and a junior two bedroom would have originally have been a one bedroom apartment, etc.


Classic Five/Six/Seven – almost always found in pre-war buildings, a “Classic 5'” apartment consists of: two bedrooms, living room, dining room and kitchen. Additional bedrooms (usually with en-suite bathrooms) make for the Classic 6 or 7.


Studio – an apartment where the living room and sleeping area are combined into one space. Usually studios have a walk-in or a Pullman-kitchen.


Duplex – two-story apartment, or a house with two two-story family units.


Triplex – an apartment with three stories.


Quadraplex – an apartment with four stories.


Penthouse – a luxury unit in high-rise buildings, usually on one of the top floors with best views. Often with outdoor space as part of the apartment.


Back to the top



Apartment Features:


Alcove – an alcove is the small area off the main living space in an apartment. Alcoves are generally used as sleeping or dining areas. In one or two-bedroom apartments, alcoves are sometimes converted into an additional smaller bedroom, forming a junior two or junior three bed room apartment.


Den – a spare bedroom that is used as a home-office, study or a library.


Built-in Appliances – appliances (usually in the kitchen or bathroom) that are permanently attached and installed, like a dishwasher, washing machine, microwave, refrigerator, etc.


Bay Window – a window that extends outwards from the main walls of a building; thus, forming a bay in a room, usually polygonal or square. Bay windows are often found in turn of the century townhouses and pre-war buildings.


Mezzanine or Loft Area is an additional space created in apartments with very high ceilings. The loft area is usually constructed above the living room, accessible by a staircase or ladder. Depending on the height of the ceiling, this space can be used for sleeping, storage or as a den.


High Ceilings – ceilings above nine feet (2.74 meters). Pre-war buildings are known for high ceilings, often with moldings. You will also find high ceilings in most modern condo/co-op developments.


Recessed Lighting – clean and contemporary light in modern apartments. The term refers to the lighting that is embedded within the ceiling, meaning that it does not have any light fixtures hanging from the ceiling.


Niche - a small recessed area in a wall, traditionally arched at the top.


EIK – abbreviation for “Eat-In Kitchen.” Unlike a Walk-In Kitchen, it is a larger kitchen that can accommodate a small dining area with a table or breakfast nook.


WEIK – Windowed Eat-in Kitchen.


Walk-In Kitchen – a kitchen that contains standard appliances and cabinets, but does not have room for a dining table.


Walk-through or Pass-through Kitchen – a kitchen that is in between of two rooms (usually a living room and a dining room).


Pullman or Petite Kitchen– often found in small apartments and studios. This is a kitchen lined up against a single wall. Usually these kitchens contain a refrigerator (full-size or half), a two-burner stove, a counter top, a cabinet (or several), and a sink.


Murphy Bed – a bed that is built into a wall and that can be pulled out when needed. A great space- saver for small apartments.


California Closet – a walk-in closet with drawers and built-in compartments.


Fireplace – can be functional (WBFP = “wood-burning fireplace”), or decorative (NWFP = “non-working fireplace”).


Original Detail – this term usually refers to the detailing in pre-war buildings, like molding on the ceilings, decorated fireplace mantels, etc.


Powder Room – same as 'half bath'. A bathroom without a shower or a bath.


Dual Sinks / Dual Vanity – a bathroom with two separate sinks; presumably his and hers.


En-Suite Bathroom –a bathroom that adjoins a bedroom. Usually found in Master Bedrooms.


Utilities – services such as Electricity, Heat, Water, Telephone and Television. May or may not be included in the rent.


Partial Views – refers to a partial views of the Central park, landmarks, the Hudson River or the East River.


Oblique Views – refers to views where you have to literally turn your head to see the Central park, landmarks or the two rivers.


Back to the top



Building Features:


Amenities – nice additional features and services offered by apartment complexes, like a swimming pool, gym, broadband internet access, common rooftop deck, etc. These items are not essential to live in an apartment, but make it more attractive and marketable.


Service Level – refers to the level of front-door service available in a building.


Full-service Building – a building that employs both a concierge and a doorman.


Concierge – an individual who sits inside the building lobby and acts as a porter as well as a security guard, monitoring the comings and goings in the building lobby. A Concierge’s duties include accepting packages for tenants, informing tenants of visitors, etc.


Attendant (Full-time or part-time) – this can be a doorman, a concierge, and/or an elevator operator.


Doorman (Full-time or part-time) – an individual who opens the doors for tenants (depending on the specific building) and who also serves as a security guard monitoring the comings and goings in the building lobby.


Superintendent – referred usually as a “super.” This is a manager responsible for maintenance in a residential building. They are the main point of contact for residents of the building. If a super lives in the same building, he or she is called a “live-in super.”


Attended Elevator – in some pre-war buildings, elevators are operated by a full-time elevator operator who also serves as a full-time security for residents.


Basement – area of a building below the ground level.


English Basement – in a townhouse, the area on the ground floor, with a separate entrance underneath the grand staircase.


Parlor Floor – second floor in a townhouse, accessible by the front staircase. The parlor floor, traditionally, is the grandest room in a townhouse and has the highest ceilings.


Patio - private garden, usually located in the back of a building and available for ground-level apartments.


Rooftop Deck / Sundeck – a common rooftop space where tenants can enjoy the views, lay in chaise lounges or barbecue (depending on the building). Offered in luxury developments, high-rises and in some walk-ups.


Terrace – a roof or part of a roof, usually in a setback on a high-rise. Unlike a rooftop deck, the terrace can be enjoyed only by the tenant in the apartment with the access to it.


Courtyard – an outdoor space surrounded by the building complex.


Keyed Elevator – refers to an apartment that occupies the entire floor of a building. This is frequently seen in loft buildings in SoHo and Tribeca area.


Back to the top



Property Condition:


Broom Clean – in ideal condition.


Blue Ribbon Condition – a house that is close to its original condition, like new.


As-is Condition - tenant or buyer accepts the property in its present condition, with no expectations that the landlord will improve anything before and/or after the sale/lease.


Triple Mint – term used to describe an immaculate, excellent condition of a property, namely (1) general condition of the apartment, (2) condition of the kitchen, and (3) condition of the bathroom.


Back to the top



Important Real Estate Terms:


Closing – the final procedure in a deal, where contracts are signed, and the property is transferred to the new owner.


Closing Costs – expenses incidental to the real estate transaction, including attorney fees, bank fees, mortgage expenses, recording fees, etc. In addition to the closing price of the property.


Common Area – the area inside and outside the building owned by all condo/co-op owners. Such areas might include parking, a swimming pool, a fitness club, a lounge and other recreational and common facilities.


Credit Rating – the rating assigned to each individual with a credit history in the US, indicating his/her credit status (one usually has either “good” or “bad” credit rating) based on financial status and credit history.


Credit Report - the report that shows a loan applicant's history of payments made on previous debts. Several companies issue credit reports, but the three largest are TransUnion Corp., Equifax and Experian.


Earnest Money Deposit – the deposit made by the prospective buyer demonstrating the seriousness of his/her intentions to buy a property.


Maintenance Fee - the monthly assessment co-op owners pay for the salary of staff, repair and maintenance of common areas, co-op's taxes.


Common Charges – the monthly fee paid by condo owners. This fee covers the building maintenance and repairs, and the salary of the staff.


Mortgage Banker – a company that provides home loans using its own money. Most banks (including Wells Fargo Bank, Citibank, HSBC, Chase and many others) have mortgage programs – you can apply to get pre-qualified for a mortgage at any of these banks before you make a purchase.


Mortgage Broker – a company that matches lenders with prospective borrowers who meet the lender’s criteria. The mortgage broker does not issue the loan, but receives payment from the lender for services. A good mortgage broker will advise you on the best type of mortgage for your needs, and will offer you several financing options to choose from.


Security Deposit - a payment required by a landlord to secure that the tenant will comply with the terms specified in the lease. Usually equal to one month’s rent, due upon the signing of the lease, and held by the landlord for the duration of the lease. This deposit will be returned to you when you move out of your apartment providing that there has not been any substantial damage to the facilities.


Subletting/Subleasing – when a tenant leases his or her apartment to a third party for a certain duration. Must be approved by the building owner or manager.


Title – legal proof that the owner is in lawful possession of the property. Clean title indicates that there are no liens or other legal proceedings. Chain of title lists all previous owners of a particular property. Cloud on title signifies a claim or other legal proceeding that clouds the marketability of a particular property’s title.


Exclusive Listing – a listing promoted by a single broker according to the broker's agreement with the owner. In an “exclusive right-to sell” agreement, the broker is entitled to a commission even if the owner finds the buyer on their own, without the broker's assistance. In an “exclusive agency” the owner can market the property and find a buyer without any obligation to the broker.


Co-Brokership – an arrangement when the broker splits the commission 50%/50% with any other brokerage firm that brings the buyer and completes the transaction. When the broker receives the listing, he or she will promote the property with brokers at-large, maximizing the number of potential buyers. Most of real estate deals are done through co-brokering.


Open House – In order to advertise a property for rent or sale, the broker for the specific listing or the management company may hold an open house. The open house is usually announced through the listing services and websites accessible to the public.


Guarantor – co-signer of the lease who assumes the responsibility if the tenant cannot make the rent payment on time. Having a co-signer makes it easier for students or people without prior rental or credit history to rent an apartment in New York City. Some landlords might require that the guarantor lives in the tri-state area (New York, Connecticut or New Jersey).


Rent Control – a program that applies to buildings constructed before 1947 and regulates how much the landlord can charge for renting the space. Tenants in rent-controlled apartments enjoy higher levels of protection against rent increases and evictions.


Rent Stabilization – tenants in rent-stabilized apartments are guaranteed a maximum rent increase – usually between 2% to 10% - for each lease renewal.


Renters Insurance (Tenants Insurance) – a policy that protects the tenant’s possessions and the apartment against flood, fire, theft, or other emergencies.


FSBO – “for sale by owner.”


Investment Property – property that is not occupied by the owner; purchased as means of investment.


Pied-a-Terre (French) – a term that refers to an apartment that is not the primary residence of the owner. The owner of a pied-a-terre typically lives somewhere else and visits New York several times per year.


Managing Agent – an independent company hired by a landlord or condo/co-op owners to manage their property. A managing company is responsible for the building operations and handles repairs.


Back to the top

Find your home
Looking for:
Location:
Bedrooms:
Total area:
sq. ft.
Price:
USD
Contact Us:
Tel.:
+1 (212) 343-06-00
E-mail:
Address:
243 west 60th street, store 2
New York, NY 10023
All information on this website including information about a property for sale, rental or financing has been obtained by Evans from sources which Evans deems reputable and reliable. All guides, reference materials, mortgage and closing cost calculators, etc, presented herein are for your reference only and are approximate. No representations are made as to the accuracy of such information, and such information is subject to errors, omission, change of price, rental, commission, prior sale, lease or financing, or withdrawal without notice, as such information has been provided by independent third parties who are solely responsible for its content. Exact closing costs and mortgage information can be obtained from your mortgage representative and/or attorney. All square footage and dimensions presented herein are approximate. Exact dimensions can be obtained by retaining the services of a professional architect or engineer. Privacy statement | Terms of use